Providing policy and expert  advice for the preparation, program and conduct of CHEMSS2017


The International Centre for Chemical Safety and Security (ICCSS) and the China Petroleum and Chemical Industry Federation (CPCIF) have established and supported the Program Committee to provide independent advice and support for the substantive preparations and program of the Global Summit on  Chemical Safety and Security (CHEMSS2017). The Summit aims to promote international cooperation in the area of chemical safety and security. At the same time, the summit is accompanied by a Global Chemical Safety and Security Expo.

The Program Committee members provide expertise in areas of diplomacy, security, peaceful uses of chemistry, and chemical safety and security. They are drawn from non-governmental organizations, chemical industries, international organizations, research institutions, universities and independent experts. The members of the Program Committee serve in their personal capacity and support the activities of the Committee on the basis of their individual expertise .

The establishment of the Program Committee is part of broad effort to promote  dialogue and wider international engagement in chemical safety and security. The Program Committee will maintain a dedicated page on the CHEMSS2017 website to serve as a platform for networking, facilitating online discussions and publishing working documents. The meetings of the Program Committee may be held in the form of on-line conferences to facilitate participation of all members and reduce expenditures. The ICCSS will support the  work and functioning of the Program Committee.

The activities of the Program Committee will focus on the following:

1.      Conducting assessments and providing information on the scientific and technological development in the fields of chemical safety and security relevant for the conduct of CHEMSS2017;

2.      Providing assistance for the  development of  the content of the thematic forums of CHEMSS2017 and accompanying events;

3.      Providing advice on proposed CHEMSS2017 activities to engage international organizations, governmental and non-governmental organizations, scientific and academic communities, the chemical industry, and to support implementation of the Chemical Weapons Convention and other international agreements including UNSCR 1540 (2004) and the 2005 International Health Regulations;

4.      Coordinating and running the CHEMSS2017 thematic forums and accompanying events;

5.      Developing the draft of the CHEMSS2017 declaration on international cooperation to enhance chemical safety and security and the promotion of a global chemical security culture.

The Co-Chairmen from the China Petroleum and Chemical Industry Federation (CPCIF) and the International Centre for Chemical Safety and Security (ICCSS)  of the Program Committee chair its meetings and directs all its activities. The Chair, in cooperation with the Members of the Program Committee, will work together to accomplish the substantive preparations and conduct of CHEMSS2017. The Members of the Program Committee will assist the Chair to identify and invite keynote speakers, review proposals for panels and workshops, establish the final structure and program CHEMSS2017, and prepare the CHEMSS2017 proceedings for publication.

The Secretary of the Program Committee supports the Chairman, coordinates and organizes the Program Committee activities, prepares the draft agenda of the Board meetings, coordinates communication and contacts, and supports the relevant activities of the Program Committee.




Honorary Chairmanship:


Li Shousheng, Chairman, CPCIF




Amb. Krzysztof Paturej, Chair of the Program Committee - President of the Board, International Centre for Chemical Safety and Security (ICCSS)


Mr. Pang Guanglian, Vice Secretary General, Director of International Affairs, China Petroleum and Chemical Industry Federation (CPCIF)


The Secretaries of the Program Committee:


Mr. JACK CHEN, Assistant Secretary-General, Committee of Small and Medium Sized Enterprises, CPCIF, e-mail:; Tel (office):86-10-010-84885514


DR. LECH STAROSTIN, ICCSS Program Director, e-mail:


Honorary Members:


Zhao Jungui, Vice Secretary General, CPCIF


Wang Jingmin, Secretary General for SMI, CPCIF


MEMBERS (preliminary confirmed):


Mr. JOSEPH ASAHINA, independent consultant, Japan, Senior Policy Adivor, ICCSS


Amb. NASSIMA BAGHLI – Ambassador (Algeria), Organization of Islamic States, Geneva, Switzerland 


Dr. PAVEL CASTULIK, PhD, Research Centre for Toxic Compounds in the Environment Masaryk University Brno, Czech Republic, Independent Consultant


Dr. MOHAMED EL ZARKA - Egypt Focal Point to the Basel Convention


Amb. HADI FARAJVAND - Islamic Republic of IRAN, Ministry of Foreign Affairs


Min. MAREK HALINIAK – Chief Inspector for Environment Protection, Warsaw, Poland


Dr. ANDRZEJ JAGUSIEWICZ – Director, International Relations and Eco-security, ICCSS


Amb. BONNIE JENKINS – United States


Amb. KALIMI MWORIA - Chairperson of the Kenya Citizens and Foreign Nationals Management Service Board


Mrs. MARGARET MOLEFE - Chemicals & Waste Management Branch Environment House, Republic of South Africa


Prof. WILLIAM W. KELLER - Director, Center for International Trade & Security, University of Georgia, USA


Dr. ANDRZEJ KOZAK – Office of Technical Inspection, ICCSS Senior Advisor, Poland


Prof. VALERI KUKHAR – Director of Institute of Bioorganic Chemistry and Petro-chemistry Science of Ukraine


Prof. MAURIZIO MARTELLINI - Secretary General Landau Network-Centro Volta, Italy, International Working Group Executive Secretary




Mr. OLEKSANDR SADOVSKY - Ukraine Chemists Union, Ukraine


Mr. TIMOTHY SCOTT – Chief Security Officer and Corporate Director for Emergency Services & Security in Dow Chemicals, USA


Mr. SCOTT SPENCE - Programme Director, Verification Research, Training and Information Centre (VERTIC)




Dr. RALF TRAPP - Independent Consultant, Germany


Amb. VAIDOTAS VERBA – OSCE Project Coordinator in Kyiv, Ukraine


Mr.  DAVID WULF –Deputy Assistant Secretary, U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Return to top